Even though this past winter was really mild, the cold, dark days are always hard on this Carolina girl. I love pouring over the garden pages in Southern Living each month. Springtime brings an explosion of green, and I decided it was time to bring a little of that green home.

I started by cleaning out the containers on my front porch and trying a little thriller, spiller, filler action. I combined lavender phlox and white petunias with a tall grass-like plant.

Moving indoors, I wanted to add a little green to my mantle. I found what looked like a small peace lily (but with a pinky red flower) at IKEA. I brought it home and decided to plant it in something I already had…a glass hurricane.

And because I’m a Southern girl, I just couldn’t resist plopping a big ol’ fern in front of the fireplace to disguise the brass and glass insert that my husband wants to replace one of these days.

So, have you “gone green” this Spring? Join me over at Centsational Girl today. Kate is hosting a “look what I planted” link party where you are sure to find loads of inspiration!

