One of my favorite Winston Churchill quotes (made famous by the hilariously bad Tim Allen movie Galaxy Quest) is: “Never give up! Never surrender!”

Lately, a lot has happened on the home front that made me want to quit this blog along with other creative endeavors I had begun. I may be a lot of things, but a quitter is not one of them.

So, please forgive my absence. I will try to show up on a more regular basis from now on. In the meanwhile, here is a little taste of what I’ve been up to:

I picked up this table from CraigsList a couple years ago because I wanted a small breakfast table for our eat-in kitchen. For what it lacked in style (I would have preferred a better-looking pedestal base), it made up for in price: $40. As you can see, I started to refinish the top. It is solid wood and both sides drop down, making for a pretty versatile little piece. However, I got lazy and never sealed the top. The finish began to wear way from morning after morning of scrubbing away crusty oatmeal and dried yogurt.

This weekend, I sanded and re-stained the whole thing, base and all. I just have to seal the top with wipe-on poly before our house guests arrive this weekend! I’ll post the “after” photo as soon as I have one…

