I love the look of reclaimed wood that is so hot right now. This kitchen island from Restoration Hardware epitomizes the look: marring from old nail holes, rough  texture and a worn patina.

After looking for a creative (and inexpensive) alternative to standard wall shelves, I thought about how I could use my own “reclaimed wood.” Our last dining table literally fell apart when the screws holding it all together became stripped over time. I threw out the main part part of the table, but I kept the leaves which were still in good condition.

I added wooden brackets from IKEA to make a pair of shelves for my boys’ room. Pardon the awkward photos; I am hoping to hang them this weekend. I love the detail on the ends, don’t you?

I made another shelf for my small entry from a piece of scrap wood I picked up from our local building surplus warehouse for only $2! I left the wood raw because I so loved the texture of the old wood. Simple black metal brackets from Home Depot made it ready to hang.

I recently saw these shelves from West Elm, and I couldn’t believe the similarity. You better believe I shared with my husband how much my creativity saved us…

Have you given in to the reclaimed wood trend?

