When it was time to replace the “it-came-with-the-house” lighting fixture in the dining room, I scoured the Internet for something interesting (and affordable). As Maria Killam wrote recently on her Colour Me Happy blog, “have you noticed how much UGLY lighting is out there?”

I thought I would never find something pretty without paying a fortune (which wasn’t really an option). Then, I discovered this wonderfully contemporary, yet traditional, fixture from Quoizel. Let me tell you, I was counting down the days until this baby arrived in the mail. It completely changed the look of my main level.

In the adjacent living room, I placed a pair of table lamps on a pair of low Expedit shelves (found separately on CraigsList!) that span one end of the room. Because our living and dining spaces are open to each other, I chose to repeat the drum shape in the shades. Lamp light really helps to make a room feel cozy, don’t you think? They are the perfect way to add just enough ambiance to an otherwise dark corner.

I am staking out an underused corner of my master bedroom for this next combination: a comfy chair and a floor lamp…a perfect little spot to curl up with a book.

 

I have had my eye on this bold shade, and I think it would be interesting paired with this floor lamp. The colors in my bedroom are all neutral, so this would really stand out.

What is your approach to lighting? Do you prefer to make a statement or keep things more functional?

